Commentary, Elections

Pro-Choice, Pro-Inslee

By Sara Yingling

Tori:  Soooo . . . We saw Patty Murray on Saturday!

Sara: And Bill Clinton! It was awesome!  He had quite a lot to say about current political events (including the recent RNC and DNC), as well as Jay Inslee. He focused a lot of his brief speech on the environment, including alluding to Inslee’s plan to focus on green energy and even create jobs in Washington, outlined in his book “Apollo’s Fire”, which has received numerous criticisms from conservatives.

All in all, I have to say that while it was really cool to be in the same room as Bill Clinton (and 3000 other Washingtonians), his speech wasn’t particularly moving, mostly because he was preaching to the choir and I have so many reasons to vote for Inslee, anyway! So, I hope those of you who weren’t able to attend the luncheon, watch his speech.

Tori: I really enjoyed hearing Senator Patty Murray speak, and I think she  outshined Bill Clinton.  This could be because she focused on being a pro-choice champion which always makes my feminist heart happy.  Also, I loved when she said, “By the way, most women at the age of 12 start having pre-existing conditions,” in reference to Obamacare.

Denis Hayes, the founder of Earth Day, was hilarious and really drove home that Inslee is an environmentalist.  I mean, when the former “Hero of the Planet,” does your fundraising ask, it adds a lot of credibility.

I think preaching to the choir is important.  Especially when we still have so much work to do in such a short period of time.  We need to make sure that we are riled up and have the energy to go knock on doors, phone bank, register voters, etc.

Walking away from the luncheon I was so re-energized.  I was wearing far too much purple and rocking my I am Pro-Choice Washington sticker, pretty much making me a billboard for NARAL.  Strangers random strangers to tell me that they agreed with me, that they were voting pro-choice, and how mad they were about the attacks on reproductive health care. I talked to a young woman who had wanted to the luncheon but couldn’t because she was only seventeen.  Ah, the youth of today!  So amazing.  I hope she checks out our website and becomes one of our volunteers . . .

Sara: I think the fact that Inslee is solidly pro-choice is one of the most important reasons why he needs to be elected governor! So, if you aren’t already, make sure you register to vote! And do it by October 8th!

Tori Westman
Sara Yingling
One thought on “Pro-Choice, Pro-Inslee

What's on your mind?

