Abortion Care, Commentary, Field canvassing

Why am I pro-choice?

by Rebecca Miller, Community Organizer at NARAL Pro-Choice Washington wrp_humanrights

Why am I pro-choice? That is easy, I fundamentally and wholeheartedly believe that it is a basic human right for women to have complete control over their bodies. All women need to be able to make the best choice for themselves and their families, especially when it comes to their reproductive health. I am pro-choice because I do not believe that anyone or any institution should dictate what a woman can and can not do with her body.

Unwanted pregnancies are not simple, and the decisions women make in these situations are complex. Just as no two women are the same, no two pregnancies are the same. And our laws need to respect this. Women need to be respected enough to make the right choices for themselves.

Five days a week I go door to door throughout Washington and talk to everyone who is home about increasing access to abortions. Some people tell me that I am crazy to be out on cold rainy nights in order to talk to strangers about such a controversial issue. But most thank me. I am energized and fueled by the stories I hear and by the women who look me in the eye and sincerely thank me for doing the work that I do. I am humbled by the women who excitedly tell me stories of how they fought to legalize abortion 40 years ago. And I am grateful to the women who invite me into their homes and tell me about their decision to have an abortion. With each story as unique as the women standing in front of me. Also, I am impressed by all of those who say that while they, personally, don’t believe in having abortions, they will gladly support us because they don’t think that government or any institution should tell a woman how to handle an unwanted pregnancy. Because after all that is what being pro-choice is all about, respecting individuals by providing them with safe and easy access to all options so that she may choose the best one for her.

What's on your mind?

